## LITTLE SAI WAN GOLFING SOCIETY



Founded 1964

## Minutes of Annual General Meeting - 24 May 2018

The following minutes are a record of the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Little Sai Wan Golfing Society held on Thursday 24 May 2018 at the Hong Kong Golf Club.

# Society Members Attending- 27

## **Committee Members – Attending- 8**

- President: Richard Castka (RC).
- Match Secretary: Jean-Paul Cuvelier (JPC).
- Honorary Treasurer: Dale Willetts (DW).
- Honorary Secretary: Nick Gikas (NG)
- Handicap Secretary: Duncan Spooner (DS)
- Officer: Richard Siemens (RS).
- Officer: Carel Rossouw (CR).
- Communications Officer: Dallas Reid (DR)

## **Committee Apologies for Absence-3**

- Captain: Antony Michell (AM).
- Vice Captain: Andre Kriesel (AK).
- Membership Secretary: Roger Best (RB).

RC opened the AGM at 2:15 pm.

# **AGENDA**

### 1. Approval of the minutes from the 2017 AGM:

RC stated that the minutes had been on the website for review for the past year and called for comments. None were received.

# 2. Matters arising:

None were raised, and the minutes were signed by RC as a true record.

# 3. Presentation of the Committee Reports

As required by the Society by-laws, the following five reports were presented by the relevant committee members:

- Captain's Report presented by RC.
- Treasurer's Report presented by DW.

- Match Secretary's Report presented by JPC.
- Membership Secretary's Report presented by RC on behalf of RB.
- Handicap Secretary's Report presented by DS.

DW stated that our overall finances were in generally good shape but, recommended the annual subs should be raised by HK\$200 to total HK\$1,000 per year. Some comments and questions were raised but, most members present thought this to be a sensible move. DW confirmed that as this did not constitute a rule change it did not need to be voted on by the general membership. He also confirmed the committee is unanimously in favour of the change.

JPC confirmed the society had been approached by HKGC and was asked to submit a letter to the government task force charged with finding land on which to build suitable housing and that a letter has been drafted by AM and will be sent as requested and posted on the website. JPC also raised the need for more players to register for the 24<sup>th</sup> edition of the Ryder Cup in November in Thailand as well as the venues for the competition.

RC confirmed on behalf of RB that our overall numbers have declined to 73 Full Members and we should recruit an additional 10 member all of whom should be good golfers playing to an official handicap of 18 or less and be members of the HKGA handicapping system. RB's report also emphasized that prospective members be well-introduced to committee members and play in two monthly competitions with committee members before being proposed.

RS suggested an advance announcement during hot weather months of an optional allowance of cart usage to attract more players for monthly matches during such months.

DS provided a breakdown of the various handicaps and cautioned that no less than five members have yet to post their scores from the April competition to the GHIN system, which is now a rule of the society. DS emphasized members are fully responsible to post all scores on a timely basis and a penalty system may be considered in the future by the committee for non-compliance.

The minutes of the AGM and Committee reports will be uploaded to the Society website <a href="https://www.lwsgs.com">www.lwsgs.com</a> for the benefit of members who wish to read them.

### 4. Election of the Committee

RC announced the resignation of two Committee Members, Duncan Spooner and Rob Henderson. To fill the vacancies two current members in good standing had been nominated, Craig Chapman and Chris Satterfield (proposed by DW and seconded by NG). RC asked for a vote and both nominees were unanimously approved by the members present.

RC announced the remaining 10 Committee Members had agreed to remain in their respective posts for another year. RC asked for an "en bloc" vote, which the members present unanimously approved.

The Committee members for 2018-2019 are:

- President: Richard Castka (RC).
- Captain: Antony Michell (AM).
- Vice-Captain: Andre Kriesel (AK).
- Match Secretary: Jean-Paul Cuvelier (JPC).
- Membership Secretary: Roger Best (RB).
- Handicap Secretary: Craig Chapman (CC).
- Honorary Secretary: Nick Gikas (NG).
- Treasurer: Dale Willets (DW).
- Officer: Richard Siemens (RS).
- Officer: Carel Rossouw (CR).
- Officer: Chris Satterfield (CS).
- Webmaster: Dallas Reid (DR)

### 5. Any Other Business

RC opened the floor for any other business.

There being no other business the President closed the AGM at 2.55 pm.

Nick Gikas LSWGS Honorary Secretary