LITTLE SAI WAN GOLFING SOCIETY



Founded 1964

Minutes of Annual General Meeting - 6 December 2022

The following minutes are a record of the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Little Sai Wan Golfing Society held on Tuesday 6th of December 2022 at the Hong Kong Golf Club.

Society Members Attending - 17

Committee Members – Attending - 6

- Hon Secretary: Nick Gikas (NG)
- Honorary Treasurer: David Collins (DC)
- Vice-Captain: Todd Hooper (TH)
- Membership Secretary: Will Glover (WG)
- Match Secretary: Raaj Shah (RS)
- Officer: Carel Rossouw (CR)

Committee Apologies for Absence - 5

- Captain: JP Cuvelier (JPC)
- Communications Officer: Dallas Reid (DR)
- Officer: Nick Allen (NA)
- Officer: Dale Willetts (DW)
- Officer: John Harris (JH)

Pre-AGM completed vote forms and proxies assigned to NG were received prior to the AGM-13

Other members in attendance:

- S Ahmoye (SA)
- R Best
- J Brock
- E Desgouttes
- M Edie
- F Hamilton
- B Haskett
- S Mackintosh

- S MacKenzie
- YB Rai
- T Wright (TW)

NG opened the AGM at 6:25 pm.

AGENDA

1. Approval of the minutes from the 2021 AGM:

NG stated the minutes have been on the website for review for the past year and called for comments. None were received. Approval of the minutes was proposed by SA, seconded by RS and approved unanimously by show of hands and proxy votes.

2. New Rules of the Society

NG referred to the New Rules, which had been circulated to all members. The New Rules were prepared following the formation of a working group (WG) to review all the current rules and propose changes to update our rules to improve governance and member experience. NG pointed out that the vast majority of the WG recommendations had been adopted in the New Rules and highlighted in particular the changes to the composition of the Committee. All Committee members would now need to be elected or re-elected at each AGM for the designated positions they are standing for.

Approval of the New Rules was proposed by WG and seconded by TH, and approved unanimously by show of hands and proxy votes.

3. Approval of fees for 2023

DC proposed that membership subscription fees for 2023 remain unchanged, as follows:

Full members HKD1,000 Country members HKD500 Joining fee HKD2,000 (if joining in first half or year) or HKD1,500 if joining in second half of year

Approval of the above fees was proposed by SA and seconded by TW and approved unanimously by show of hands and proxy votes.

The green fees will need to be increased as HKGC will be increasing fees for all societies with effect from 1 Jan 2023. We currently add a HKD100 uplift for most events to cover the costs of Golf Genius and other expenses and a further HKD200 uplift for guests, who would not have paid any membership fees. This will be further reviewed once further details of the new HKGC fees are obtained, as will the prizes, which at present are around HKD5,000 of HKGC pro shop token per event.

4. **Presentation of the Committee Reports**

The following reports were presented by the relevant committee members:

- Captain's Report: presented by NG on behalf of JPC
- Treasurer's Report presented by DC
- Match Secretary's Report- presented by RS
- Membership Secretary's Report presented by WG

5. Election of the Committee

NG announced the resignation of DW, WG, CR and JH as Committee members and advised that Vance Lee is standing for election as Membership Secretary to fill the position being vacated by WG.

The New Rules provide for the Committee to consist of up to 10 members, including 8 with designated roles. The following Members had indicated their willingness to stand for election or reelection to the Committee:

JP Cuvelier (Captain), Todd Hooper (Vice-Captain), Nick Gikas (Secretary), David Collins (Treasurer), Raaj Shah (Match Secretary), Vance Lee (Membership Secretary), Dallas Reid (Social Media), and Nick Allen.

Since there were no contested positions, NG suggested an "en bloc" vote, and the election of all the above candidates was proposed by SA and seconded by TW and approved unanimously by show of hands and proxy votes.

6. Any other business

The minutes of the AGM and Committee reports will be uploaded to the Society website www.lwsgs.com for the benefit of Members who wish to read them.

There being no other business, NG closed the AGM at 7.17 pm.

Nick Gikas LSWGS Honorary Secretary